Back to School!

Warning: I am catching up on a week and a half of life so this post will be somewhat long… You have been warned :P

What a week!  I finished my first week of school for the semester!  17 credit hours are NO joke!  Needless to say, most of my posts will be happening over the weekend for a while :P

Luckily, Fridays are my “catch-up day.”  Though, I felt busier today running all the errands I put off during the week!  The fact that we had some seriously creepy storms today tried to slow me down, complete with tornado and lightning warnings:

Creepy!

Creepy!

Scary!

Scary!

I also rediscovered my wand curling iron this week and it is so much faster and longer lasting than straightening my hair (since it waves and frizzes moments after stepping outside thanks to the humidity).  I had to somewhat re-learn to use it, but luckily it’s like riding a bike!

Curls!

Curls!

Training this week has gone pretty well!  I even started some cross-training!  My gym has a 30 minute circuit which I tried for the first time on Wednesday!  I also added 25 minutes of a random resistance program on the elliptical to add some cardio!

Week 7: 12.65 miles (60.27 miles total)

Day 1: 4.11 miles (55 min.)

Day 2:  3.86 miles (53 min.)

Day 3: 4.68 miles (62 min.)- Did my first magical mile at 11:30!!!

Week 8 (so far!): 6.2 miles (66.47 miles total)

Tuesday: 3.38 miles (45 min.)

Wednesday: 2.36 miles (25 min. on elliptical)

Thursday: 2.82 miles (39 min.)

 

I’m not going to lie, I am a bit scared for tomorrow’s run: 8 miles!  Eek!  It will be my longest run EVER!  I am going to pre-fuel with a couple Gatorade chews and bring along extras to boost my run!  I also have some sport beans and Gatorade drink to help me along so hopefully I will make it through :)

On the rundisney.com blog, I discovered a recipe for refueling after a morning run: Maple Quinoa with Grapes!  You can find the recipe here.

Post-run meal!

Post-run meal!

It’s really tasty!  I like that it isn’t too sweet and the pecans give it a little something extra.  The recipe makes 4 servings so you can make it ahead of time and have post-workout meals for a couple days!

Also, I recently discovered Chobani blended yogurt… SO GOOD!  I have tried the Orange Vanilla, Key Lime, and Coconut.  I have been pairing them with fresh fruit as a yummy and filling breakfast on my non-workout days!

Mmm peach!

Mmm peach!

Ummm DELICIOUS!

Ummm DELICIOUS!

Lastly, some of you may have noticed that some things have changed to the side of my page: I was recently made an ambassador for Sweat Pink! I am so excited to be a part of this community and meet fellow Sweat Pink-ers!

I hope you all are doing well!  I have been trying to keep up with your blogs as much as I can in my limited free time.

How are your runs going?  What’s the longest run you have ever completed?  What are your go-to pre/post run foods?

Leave a Reply

