Makes Me Happy Mondays III

It’s time for the third installment of “Makes Me Happy Mondays” :)  I hope everyone had a great weekend!  Since Mondays are like my Saturdays with my work schedule, I often find myself quite busy on them, but am super thankful that I am able to share things that are making me smile in the hopes that they make you happy too :)

  • My curling wand

I purchased the Remington Pearl Ceramic Curling Wand almost two years ago and before this month, probably used it a whopping 7 times.  However, I found a pin on Pinterest showing a quick “lazy” way to curl your hair in less than five minutes… Let me just say, IT IS AMAZING!  Simply put your hair in a SUPER high pony (like almost at your forehead).  Set the wand to a high temp (make sure you protect your hair with some sort of spray/serum made for heat-styling).  Now the next part depends on how much hair you have/how tight you want your curls- seperate your hair into 5-10 sections and curl, wrapping the hair away from your face.  Hold until the thickest part of the wrapped hair is heated through.  Repeat until all sections are curled, then spray with hairspray of your choice.  Take out the ponytail, shake and spray again.  Finger-style as needed.  Here’s my (second day) result:

IMG_5265IMG_1473

My curls lasted TWO DAYS!  On the second day, I simply combed through my hair with a wide-toothed comb and was ready to go!

 

  • Stitch Fix

I have read several blogs about the company Stitch Fix. Basically how it works: you answer a series of questions about your age, sizes, and proportions, what you like/dislike in terms of style, and what types of pieces you like, and a personal stylist puts together pieces like tops, dresses, etc. (a “fix”) and sends them out to you for a price.  You then evaluate what you like in the fix and either choose to keep or send back any/all pieces.  They will apply what you paid to be styled towards the piece(s) you want to keep!  I will receive my first fix today, and I am SUPER excited!!!  Look for my blog post tomorrow for a recap and on Instagram for photos!

 

  • My Fitness Pal

I have been struggling lately with my diet, fitness routine, and merely staying motivated to run/work out.  A big part of that is holding myself accountable.  I have tried in the past to use calorie counters etc. but always trail off after a few days.  Almost two weeks ago, I decided to make a commitment to stay with it and I re-downloaded My Fitness Pal to my phone.  My first week was GREAT, but last week I struggled with my diet.  Between a stressful work week (Spring break at Disney (YIKES) and block outs for the discounted tickets (DOUBLE YIKES) have not made my days easy) and the final push towards finals with school, I have not been eating well.  I am a stress-eater, and I was guilty of overindulging the past few days :/ But, today starts a new week!  I am proud that even when I was eating the extra calories, I didn’t “forget” to log anything like I would in the past.

 

  • Darcy Chronicles

It’s probably the understatement of the century when I say I miss my dogs.  As much as I love my old man Leo, Darcy has wormed her way into my heart.  My baby girl tends to be a bit of a troublemaker, but she’s so darn cute that she can pretty much get away with anything, lol!  My dad has taken to text me photos and stories every couple days so I can keep tabs on my girl!

Darcy playing with a puppy!

Darcy playing with a puppy!

Darcy "helping" with the laundry!

Darcy “helping” with the laundry!

Darcy decided she no longer wanted her toys/the lining in her toy basket :P

Darcy decided she no longer wanted her toys/the lining in her toy basket :P

Darcy and her bestie (a big Doberman!)

Darcy and her bestie (a big Doberman!)

 

 

So what is making you happy this Monday?  Have any of you tried Stitch Fix?  How do you hold yourself accountable with your diet/fitness?

Leave a Reply

