Happy Easter!!!

I hope everyone is having a wonderful Easter (or Passover if that’s what you celebrate!) 🙂  I had an… interesting… brunch with my parents, grandmother, and our family friend Ken.  If we ever get through a meal without fighting with my grandma, it will be a miracle!  Ah family time…

My parents then headed out to spend the rest of the day with some friends and left me and the doggies to our own devices.  I have LOTS to keep me busy… I have 7 hours left for my field experience journal and a research paper to write all for my diversity in education class.  I really should study some calculus, but I still cannot bring myself to even open my book after that last exam (ROUGH).

Overall, this spring break has been a great one!  I got to spend lots of time with my pups including a beach day that my skin is still paying for (I was wearing a long-sleeved shirt but ended up leaving it in the car because it was so hot there… oops!).  Normally I am relentless about applying sunscreen, but I was so distracted between my dogs and all the cuties on the beach that I forgot.  I also got my hair cut and high/low lighted.  It is quite darker than I think I have ever had it, but I like it.  I was so over-processed from being SUPER BLONDE for so long that my hairdresser’s/my goal was to take me back to my natural color and add some highlights.  I am still getting used to it, not to mention running outside has added some extra lightness to it 🙂

As far as my running is concerned, I am finding myself making progress!  I was able to run for 20 minutes!  Without stopping!  It was hard, but I made it through and didn’t need a walking break.  I can’t wait for the day when I can just get out there and GO GO GO! 🙂  I changed up a few things which seem to be working:  I literally tied my shoes all the way up to the ankle (I never use those last holes that are in the actual sneaker, but my ankles had been bothering me at the beginning of my runs and this fixed it almost completely!), I slowed my running pace a tad and sped up my walking pace for both my warm up and cool down, and I started varying my route.  Luckily the weather has been BEAUTIFUL with temps in the low 70s/60s… aka perfect for my asthmatic butt to run outside 😛

IMG_1315

IMG_1311

I am on track to finish a 5K within the next 3 weeks!  And hopefully a 10K by my 27th birthday (oh wow am I really turning 27?!?  EEK).  I am still looking for a race or two to run before the end of the year.  I am most definitely running a Disney race within the next year.  I initially wanted to run one this year, but with school and life (not to mention $$$) I don’t know if that will be a possibility.  Though I may be able to sucker my mom into sponsoring me… We’ll see!  I do know that I WILL run the inaugural Minnie 10K in January (new for 2014!).  Hopefully I will have a fast enough pace to have an opportunity to take lots of photos 🙂

I have slowed on my dedication to the Green smoothies :/  I have been really displeased with the flavors of most of the smoothies lately.  I think a good portion of that could be remedied by a better blender, but that just is not in the cards anytime soon.  I am still drinking them, just more like every other day.

Hope everyone’s weekend was great!  Until next time 🙂

Leave a Reply

