Wine and Dine, Here I Come!

Today marks the first official training day for the Wine and Dine Half Marathon!  I was up bright and early at 5:30 to tackle my run!  I am following Jeff Galloway’s walk/run plan, so hopefully I will be good to go come November 🙂

As for my run itself, aside from some Garmin issues (it took a good 5-10 minutes to get my location), my run was pretty good!  I have to admit though, within the first 5 minutes of being out, I got CREEPED out!  Now, I have run early before, but not 5 AM early.  My neighborhood is really quiet (even during the day) and does not have much as far as street lighting.  I quickly abandoned my headphones so I could focus more on my surroundings.  It was my first outdoor run without music, and I have to say… I didn’t hate it!  I concentrated more on my breathing and intervals.  Time did seem to go a bit  more slowly, but I felt a bit safer without the distraction of music.  I think Thursday I will go out a little later so I can listen to my music and enjoy my run more.  🙂  That or leave the music at home and carry my pepper spray :O

My summer class is going well, surprisingly.  I don’t exactly feel that I am doing everything right, due to my inexperience in the program, but my grades tell a different (and better) story!  This week we have a bit of a break as far as projects go, but I still have plenty of reading (in one of the most boring school books I have EVER read 😦 Ick!) to keep me busy!

Until next time 🙂

2 thoughts on “Wine and Dine, Here I Come!

  1. Julie says:

    I have the same problem with my Garmin – it takes forEVER to find my location. I do a quick warm-up run before I start the Garmin (just a few blocks), but it seems pointless when I have to wait so long in one place for the GPS to lock on. Oh well – still love my Garmin!

Leave a Reply

