Starting Week 3!

Ever have one of those days where your workout just never gets off the ground?  That was yesterday for me.

I had school early and naturally since I had plans to head to the gym with people right after, we got out way late.  I also normally pack something to eat, but of course, I forgot it and had to scarf down a sandwich when I got home.  So, when I got to the gym and started my workout, 5 minutes into my run, I got the WORST side stitch.  I haven’t had one that bad since I first started running!  I slowed down to a crawl to try and alleviate some of the pain.  However, it continued to linger.  I caught a couple breaks where it felt okay to run for a minute or two, but then came roaring back.  I probably spent less than a mile of my 3.5 mile treadmill workout running 😦

Now, I know my body and I usually cannot eat or drink much anywhere near my workouts/runs.  But the side effects usually are more of an upset stomach and maybe a slight cramp. Both go away really quickly if I slow down for a minute or two, and I can continue my exercise as planned.  Let’s just say, after yesterday’s workout, I will NOT be eating anything near my run again!

And my shoes decided to add insult to injury by coming untied THREE TIMES in my hour workout!  While my shoes are super comfy for runs etc., I have never had so many issues with the laces coming undone (even with double knots!!!) ,as well as the tongue shifting within minutes, in any other shoes I’ve owned.  Grr.  I do need to start looking for new shoes soon since I am noticing more and more wear and tear. So it might be time to try something new!

Today’s plans include a little break from schoolwork.  My professor assigned a last-minute presentation on Monday and due yesterday and I’m a tad fried from that!  I might work on our critical assignment that’s due Sunday night if I have some extra motivation 😛

I’m starting questions of the day so I can get to know you better!  Feel free to answer one or all of them! 🙂

How is your training going?  Do you ever suffer from side stitches?  What is your remedy for them?

3 thoughts on “Starting Week 3!

  1. showmeashley says:

    OH my GOODNESS. 99% of my workouts with the hubbs ( aka .. when i actually have to workout hard … ) I have had side stitches which I NEVER get. EVER. But this past 2 weeks they are like not stopping never ending even when i walk breathe etc. they have been lasting the WHOLE hour. and in the same spot . Funny i blamed the heat because when i run on the tredmill I have not had any of the problems. I am going to try to see if it is water or food now that you mention that…

Leave a Reply

