Wish I Liked…

Wow, I am completely wrapped up in the whirlwind that is the beginning of the semester/new job/training for my first race ever!  I love being super busy though, but it takes some getting used to 😛

School is going well so far, but packed with exams/projects/homework which have all been taking up lots of my time!  I currently have two exams this week as well as one project due (in addition to semester-long projects and observations to be working on) and have my last training day for work on Wednesday!  I cannot wait to start working for real!

With all the craziness that is my academic and work life, I sadly missed a day of training (a 4 mile weekend run with a magic mile).  At least it wasn’t a LONG run, but I am still kind of bummed 😦 The other reason I missed the run was due to some pretty intense leg pain.  I had a feeling it was due to my sneakers.  I have had them for some time now and have NO idea how many miles I logged on them, so I got new ones!

New shoes!

New shoes!

New shoes!

New shoes!

For the first time, I went to a running store and got fitted!  Since I don’t have issues with pronation, I was given several neutrally cushioned shoes to try.  I was torn between a pair of Brooks Ghost and The Saucony Ride 6.  As you can see, I may have some brand loyalty because I went with the Saucony shoes!  They are SO comfortable and feel great so far!  I am giving them their true test tomorrow with my long run, so fingers crossed that they continue to be awesome 🙂

Week 8 (Continued): 15.03 miles (75.3 training miles)

Saturday: 8.83 miles (1 hour 53 minutes)

Week 9: 5.52 miles (80.82 training miles)

Monday: 2.07 miles (25 minutes on elliptical)

Tuesday: 2.3 miles (31 minutes)

Thursday: 3.22 miles (51 minutes)

Week 10 (So Far!): 6.06 miles (86.88 training miles)

Tuesday: 3.24 miles (45 minutes)

Thursday: 2.82 miles (38 minutes)

Whew!  Now that all of that is out of the way, I want to talk about foods that you wished you like!  We all have them, and sometimes we can trick ourselves into liking them eventually… and sometimes not, lol.  Some foods I have “tricked” my taste buds into liking include:

Greek yogurt!  I know, crazy, right? I never liked the consistency or the fact that it's usually "Fruit on the Bottom" but somewhere along the line, my brain forgot all that and let me enjoy it :P

Greek yogurt! I know, crazy, right? I never liked the consistency or the fact that it’s usually “Fruit on the Bottom” but somewhere along the line, my brain forgot all that and let me enjoy it 😛

COFFEE!  I know... I can't really believe that one either... These days, my life would not be complete without my coffee (especially this time of year: Pumpkin Spice=LOVE)!

COFFEE! I know… I can’t really believe that one either… These days, my life would not be complete without my coffee (especially this time of year: Pumpkin Spice=LOVE)!

Now, foods that I want to like SO badly, but just don’t: Peppers (though I found out after being allergy tested a few years ago that I have some sensitivity to peppers so that could be a factor), spicy foods (seriously I cannot even deal with more than a touch of seasoning on tacos let alone anything with REAL spice), cabbage (coleslaw, sauerkraut, etc.  though I don’t hate it in an egg roll, but that’s even pushing it), onions (love the flavor, but it’s a texture thing that I can’t deal with), and one that I keep trying over and over again and want to like, but can’t stand:

Brussels Sprouts!

Brussels Sprouts!

I have made them 12 different ways, with different seasonings, garnishes, flavors, and just do NOT like them… SO sad!  I see so many bloggers with them and am so sad that I can’t enjoy them!

 

So how about you?  What foods do you love now, but used to despise?  What about ones you want to love, but can’t?

One thought on “Wish I Liked…

  1. showmeashley says:

    I used to NEVER like coffee. It was gross. Nasty and awful. It took going to Italy. Falling in love with all sorts of coffee- then came back here and had to relearn to like “american” coffee.

Leave a Reply

