Wine and Dine Recap!

I know it’s been two months since the race, but here is my official recap of the weekend!!!

I put off packing until the last minute so we got a later start on the road to Disney.

Beautiful sky on the way to Disney!

Beautiful sky on the way to Disney!

One of the best sites to see :)

One of the best sites to see 🙂

My mom and I checked into All-Star Music, dropped off our stuff and headed out to Downtown Disney to walk around and catch some dinner.

Volcano!!!

Volcano!!!

Characters in Flight

Characters in Flight

We stopped at Wolfgang Puck Express for dinner.  My mom and I split a Margherita Pizza and California Roll.  Bother were VERY good and tasted fresh.

Yum-O!

Yum-O!

I loved the extra cheese added to the pizza, as well as the fresh tomatoes instead of sauce (like a traditional Margherita pizza would). Also, the addition of masago to a California roll should be required in all cases!  🙂

We walked around a bit more and admired the Lego sculptures (I cannot even imagine how many hours went into creating them!)

IMG_1776 IMG_1777 IMG_1778 IMG_1781 IMG_1782 IMG_1783

Before leaving, I popped into Fit2Run to look around.  I ended up getting a running belt to use in the race (I know, breaking the cardinal rule of no new pieces for race day, but luckily, it didn’t affect my run!).

On Friday, my mom and I ventured over to the expo to pick up my packet and look around.  While it was crowded, I had virtually no wait to get my packet or anything else that day.

IMG_1792 IMG_1793 IMG_1798 IMG_1800

My mom and I left and headed out to the Mall at Millenia to grab lunch and do some shopping.

Mmm Chipotle!

Mmm Chipotle!

After running a few more errands, we headed to the Polynesian to watch the first night of Holiday Wishes from the beach.

IMG_1807 IMG_1811

To avoid tiring my legs out, I spent the majority of Saturday laying down and working on homework.  My nerves were pumping all day, and I was having trouble with the idea of eating any solid food.

Meet Powerade, my BFF :)

Meet Powerade, my BFF 🙂

I made sure that I got ready early enough to catch one of the first buses over to ESPN.

Hotel lobby before the race!

Hotel lobby before the race!

When I got there, I was still surprised at how many people were in line to meet the characters.  Since I probably only had enough time to meet one, I chose the big guy:

IMG_1826

My phone’s camera was extremely uncooperative that night, so I am apologizing in advance for the LOW quality of the pictures from that night!

Minnie with her apron

Minnie with her apron

Chef Goofy!

Chef Goofy!

I was placed in Corral F and nerves REALLY set in once we had to go to our assignments.

IMG_1827 IMG_1830 IMG_1837

When the time finally came for us to start, we were greeted with the same fireworks and, for us, Greek music!

I started off the race with running the first three miles, then using the Run-Walk method, varying between 2-1 and 1-1.

Tree of life!

Tree of life!

Pirate Ship

Pirate Ship

Lighted Sebastian

Lighted Sebastian

Tower of Terror from the front.

Tower of Terror from the front.

Tower of Terror from behind.

Tower of Terror from behind.

Start of the Osborne Lights

Start of the Osborne Lights

Down the street.

Down the street.

IMG_1856 IMG_1857 IMG_1864

IMG_1862IMG_1877

I finished with a time of 2:49:57.  Since my goal was just to finish, getting a time less than 3 hours was fine by me 🙂

IMG_1865

I attempted to go to the after-party but got stuck in that bridge with the masses.  People around me were dropping like flies and the heat of everyone crammed together started making me nauseous, so I threw in the towel and went back to my hotel room.

Celebrating with a Mickey bar :P

Celebrating with a Mickey bar 😛

Here is a close-up of my first medal ever!

IMG_1869

Overall, I was kind of disappointed in the race.  I had my hopes set SO high after reading many recaps from years prior.  I thought that the entertainment was pretty lacking and the route was awkward in many places.  I don’t even want to get started on the poor organization of getting to the after party.  I really wanted to go and was SO upset that the route prevented the majority from getting over to it.  I made sure to wait a good 15 minutes, but in that time, the massive crowd did not budge.  Hopefully they will get that figured out for next year.  I would love to give it a go again next year.

8 thoughts on “Wine and Dine Recap!

  1. megarella says:

    Oh Brittany, I’m sorry that Wine & Dine didn’t meet your expectations:( It was probably my favorite of the three Disney races I’ve done, though I admit there were issues in 2011 with crowding entering/in DAK. Glad it didn’t turn you off from future halves/Run Disney races. 🙂

Leave a Reply

